Basic Measures That Easily Confuse

10 Jan

 

As I was taking steps forward in the past few days or so in trying my best to kill as many birds with one stone that I possibly could find the amount of strength & stamina within me to do, there have been a lot of metaphors I have been playing around with in my head while I’ve been making this type of progress, and today, I think I will measure out to you in detail what they are, as I feel they are some of the biggest equations in life that most people either do not adhere to, or are misunderstanding in some way or another.

If you don’t put much effort into figuring things out for yourself with basic measurements in life, or even if you goof up on them sometimes, you’ll be f*cked (excuse my French) on any exam or test. You can always count on me, by the way, to go out of my way to make a point in shedding some light in areas that need to be included every day & may be inadvertently excluded just from not exercising your mind in putting a great deal of thought into what you’re doing & saying, and why.

TENDERIZING - pounding it out

TENDERIZING - pounding it out

Feel free to add any more to this list I’ve started, because this is only my first shot at it, right off the top of my head, as I most usually have a knack for doing.

  • Crossing a milestone… this is a pro (as in, a plus, or + sign)
  • Rule of thumb… this should be just about as basic as it can get & if you don’t have a thumb, I guess you’re shit outta luck.
  • One Little, Two Little, Three Little Indians – this is only a rhyme
  • For every inch I give, you take a mile – people trying to take more than you give
  • One step forward, two steps back – when you make a step in the right direction, sometimes you get pushed back twice as much from where you were to begin with.
  • Compromise is dividing a cake in the way in which everyone thinks they’re getting the biggest piece of cake.
  • An eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth – NOT!
  • Worth your weight in gold – that’s me (hee hee hee)
  • Nickel & diming – only when you let people take what you’re worth your weight in salt (1 of the staples in life) & if you keep turning around repeating mistakes you know you shouldn’t be making, you might just turn into a pillar of salt – who knows?
  • A load short – a derogatory term for being lame-brained or perhaps even mentally ill, a substitute word for some who prefer not to name-call
  • ½ an ounce of truth – you can count on the one (this comes from) to be a liar more often than not
  • Meet you halfway  – now this is a good compromise.
  • Getting only half of what you bargained for – dem’s da breaks… suck it up!

 

Well, I have a baker’s dozen (that’s 13) of items here that I’ve added to spice up your day. And guess what? I just counted 13 fish sticks in this package that says it contains 12. How’s that for a bonus?

INCH FOR INCH pound for pound

INCH FOR INCH pound for pound

5 Responses to “Basic Measures That Easily Confuse”

  1. Liza Writes January 11, 2011 at 2:21 am #

    I am amazed with your sense of inspiration, discipline and length of your pieces. You keep me moving forward – thank you for being you ~

    You’re right about honesty being a lonely word – what we all really want is honest praise ~ my friend said to me the other day that I dig too deep without novocain 🙂

    • thelightningphoenix January 11, 2011 at 3:05 am #

      Thank-you, Liza, for praising me, as well as inspiring me.
      I guess I found my niche in life & it seems
      I keep spitting out my blogs as fast as the ideas come to my mind.
      It’s getting to be quite a bit more of a breeze for me
      now that I have regained some piece of mind & tranquility.
      My zest for life & love for people who are dear to me
      keep me going, just by filling myself with good thoughts
      & fond memories about them.

  2. cavalheira January 13, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    ………..✬✬✬✬……✬✬✬✬…..✬✬✬✬
    …….✬██████___██████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬
    ….✬████████✬████████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬
    …✬██████████████████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬
    ..✬███████████████████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬
    ….✬█████████████████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬
    ….._✬███████████████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬
    …..___✬████████████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬
    ……._____✬███████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬
    …….._______✬███✬___✬▒✬
    ………..________❤______❤
    ……….________KISSES ….

  3. Liza Writes January 18, 2011 at 12:10 am #

    PS – don’t kill birds with one stone 🙂 sing with them and fly away from those that try to take away your freedom or drag you down

  4. thelightningphoenix January 25, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    Speaking of rules of thumb,
    I can’t help but comment here
    after watching
    The Pope of Greenwich Village
    for the very 1st time, in its entirety
    ’til almost 6 a.m. in the morning on Sat.

    Don’t ask me how I ever missed this in the past
    but what I can tell you is that I had a helluva time
    taking my thumb outta my arss
    for the remainder of the day! 😛

Leave a Reply

