Being A Perfect F*ck-Up

29 Dec
 

This blog that I’m posting & the comments that follow are so important to me, that I’m stressing to all of you, young & old alike, to read it over carefully & take great heed to the words that are being said as well as their meaning.

 

Fake Perfection

A couple of contacts in various social networks have raised the awareness of “fake people, lives and relationships.”  I can relate to this feeling because sometimes I catch myself evaluating others as being “fake” as well.  What does it mean to be fake?  Is being fake striving to appear perfect, like nothing is ever wrong?  Does being fake mean to be a liar or omitting truths?  Is being fake exaggerating situations using imagination?  One of the definitions of fake is “to conceal the defects of or make appear more attractive, interesting, valuable, etc., usually in order to deceive: The story was faked a bit to make it more sensational.”

I catch myself striving towards perfection but does that mean I am being deceptive or just want to practice getting better?  The amount of concentration it takes to not make mistakes or discover the truth is mentally draining.  If I allow my existence to become somewhat robotic and mechanical by following every external rule of what my life “should be”, I won’t know how to recognize my own thoughts. 

I may say the right things and behave the appropriate social way but eventually and hopefully I arrive to the realization that following a cookie cutter existence is not authentic to my thought process.  If we get caught up in living up to false images, we shred our unique core value just to project illusions of perfection.  Who decides what perfection is?  When did we start to condemn ourselves for showing what we are really like without the suit, without the make-up and without the title to hide behind?  If we all behave like the crowd, the world around us starts to appear predictable and somewhat fake, yet reality will still unfold through our perceptive eyes as we decide to behave predictable or authentic.   I despise having to sometimes resort to a superficial and safe response and it is exhausting trying to be perfect.  If we are all acting on a superficial layer; it is only natural to have the slight inkling behind our minds that everyone else is lying or acting fake.  A person near and dear to me once said; “you can’t think everyone is lying to you, if you do you’ll be miserable.”

About Liza Writes

I am the author of my life, each day is a page turner where new chapters get to fill up w/adventures and clarities. I stopped looking to “arrive” to one destination. I get bored when I am not challenged. I count on different activities for balance. The investments in my life have changed because I now value my time, my mind, my soul and my body. Every age is a stage and I am evolving; willing to grow and depend on my guts instead of sitting on my butt waiting for life to fall on me. Writing is my favored form of expression because its practice gives me the chance to treasure the divinity of life. Writing has strengthened me; the practice allows me to develop wisdom by releasing all the thoughts that weaken me using creativity and exaggeration. Writing has been a safe place for me to live out my fantasy, be more dramatic and open my imagination without the emotional messiness. The blank page is an open invitation to see the words of my heart come alive; writing is the time I focus, lose myself and find myself while not being confined to any definition. View all posts by Liza Writes
This entry was posted on Tuesday, December 28th, 2010 at 8:02 pm and posted in Perception Shapes. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.

Be the first to like this post.

No Responses to “Fake Perfection”

  • E. Carolyn Kuechen Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    December 29th, 2010 at 12:22 am

    Wow, Liza! You have addressed several subjects all at once & have opened up a big can of worms with regards to the different types of being a human fake, both in your own eyes & those of others. In my opinion, there is nothing wrong with wanting to create a perfect space around you, for instance, keeping nooks & crannies free of build-up, closets neat & organized, and things clean & tidy. When we have order around us & follow healthy patterns of living, like working first before play, or as a German once put it, Arbeit macht Essen (meaning work makes sustenance in all respects, including being free)& putting daily & weekly routines into effect that will promote a healthy & serene environment around you, then all the more power to you all out there. Think to yourselves a moment, how would you feel if you had chaos around you? Messy homelives not including disorganization but also people with lack of manners & diplomatic social behaviour. We are all in charge of building our atmosphere the way we want it to be. It appears as if the expression “cleanliness is next to Godliness” has become somewhat outdated in this newer generation.

    Now, in getting to the points you made about fake people, in my eyes, from what I’ve seen & experienced, there are fake people performing motions without emotions, meaning that they are pretending to like what they do, what they talk about & the people they associate with. This type of fakeness in human beings is considered to me to be a mimicry of the wanna-be’s in society who are envious of those who actually take great joy in everything that life offers as well as truly appreciate & value those things. As for couples being fake, well girl, I don’t need to go there, for as you probably already know by now, I have addressed this already just recently in another website.

    Before I move on to your other blogs, Liza, I’d just like to compliment you in all sincerity, on what an excellent writer you are. What I also like most especially about you is your style, for I have learned quite a thing or two from you in the short time since we were brought together in the net. One of the most significant things I’ve learned is how to approach a scenario & try to describe exactly what I see (as well as smell, & you can take that any way you want to, haha) in the things people say, in the gestures of their bodily actions, in the expressions of their faces, oh… and before I forget, last but not leastly, exactly the way I’m being made to feel when I witness the scene, from the point of view of the way in which one would be describing something to an officer of the law when they are being questioned by them, for example.

    Anyway, I’m moving on now to read some more of the finer stuff from one of the ‘cream of the crop’.

  • E. Carolyn Kuechen Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    December 29th, 2010 at 12:47 am

    OOPS! I forgot to add that perhaps people act like Stepfordish robots, performing actions without emotions, or maybe even doing nothing at all for long stretches of time, because they are not being praised & valued by others they hold dear and need to feel loved by. This may also add the the fake rituals we see in couples who are pretending they have the perfect life. It’s almost like playing with Barbies when we were kids & playing house with them. All woman should be able to express their creativity & emotions freely to others they love, and same goes with men – the man needs to feel loved & appreciated for the things they like to do. It doesn’t matter what a male or female plays with, whether it’s the Betty Crocker oven or the Black & Decker power tools, just so long as they are happy & accepted for who they are. As for mistakes – heck, we all make them, don’t we? If we didn’t make mistakes, we wouldn’t have to practise anything now, would we?

  •  

  • E. Carolyn Kuechen Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    December 29th, 2010 at 12:52 am

    See, I even made a couple of mistakes in my last comment in the grammar I used & the repetition of the word ‘the’ (instead of typing the word ‘to’ before , but who the eff cares, really! While we’re on the topic still of the most perfect way to do things, what is your opinion about which way we should hang a roll of toilet paper. I believe it was Ann Landers who said to place it with the flap side overhanging. Wasn’t that the exact same lady who stated that if a woman can’t hold a pencil underneath her breast, then she doesn’t need to wear a bra? (hee hee hee)

  • E. Carolyn Kuechen Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    December 29th, 2010 at 12:54 am

    Crapola! Now I forgot the place the bracket. GOODNESS ME!

  • E. Carolyn Kuechen Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    December 29th, 2010 at 12:55 am

    OOPS! I really meant to say
    I FORGOT TO PLACE THE BRACKET
    in the second-to-last slot.
    I’d better get the power tools back out again, SHEESH! ^o)

  • E. Carolyn Kuechen Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    December 29th, 2010 at 1:23 am

    Something just dawned on me, Liza, and it’s really coincidental to one of the last few things that occurred between my latest ex & I that added to the list of reasons why I should end the relationship. Now, I know that Shakespeare has a name for what I’m about to tell you, with respect to the similarity between my last comment & what transpired between him & I. Here goes: I was staying as a guest at his home when he began to ask me to perform chores that were somewhat beyond my physical limitations while his daughter was still laying in bed at around noon hour. He asked if I could hang the wet curtains back up onto the heavy wooden rod that was resting on brackets screwed into the wall. It was very painful for me to do it, period, because of my permanent injuries to my arm & hand, then after I placed the rod back onto the bracket, I noticed the bracket was somewhat loose, but left it positioned there anyway (because I didn’t want to have the wet curtains causing any damage to the seams of the fake wooden floor if I laid them down on it), but I did possess enough common sense & foresight in the matter by pinning a cursive note (in my own handwriting) on the curtains, that more or less stated to be careful when handling them because the bracket holding them is loose. While I was out of the room, the rod fell down, & when he came back into the house & noticed it there, he began to holler at me, degrading me in front of his daughter (who, by that point, was up & about) by calling me STUPID & other variations thereof. So, in essence, what I’m trying to say is that a missing bracket from its slot caused me to become verbally abused in a household that I’m not even supposed to be helping to manage in the first place, unless of course I feel like it. Now that my blood has begun to boil again, I’d better give it a rest before I go on to your other blogs I haven’t read. Oh, and if you have read any of my notes around half a year ago, I mentioned that there is a French law where a man can be charged for verbal abuse. Enough said… for now!

  •  I modifed my last comment I left on Liza’s space in here & placed brackets (no pun intended) around ‘who, by that point, was up & about’ with regards to his daughter, because it was not her that was humiliating me by calling me stupid, but wouldn’t you know it, she actually mimicked her father’s behaviour a couple of weeks later when she more or less ‘tattled’ to him regarding me leaving the coffee maker plugged in the night before, of all things! YES, folks!!! GO FIGURE! Especially when the nearly new top-of-the-line coffee maker has an automatic shut-off & all of the other appliances in the house are all plugged in, to boot! She ‘ratted me out’ (or so her behaviour displayed to me, or it could have easily have been misinterpreted by me rather than just seeing it as mere compliance in fear of impending-doom scolding from her father), believe it or not, while the 3 of us were in the room together one morning after I stayed overnight, acting like I wasn’t even there in the room (but then I should only see this as a typical teenager’s attitude with respect to them not thinking first… like WAKING UP, giving it some thought first before you say or do something, which I admit I have been guilty myself of in the past.  And just to be politically correct here, people, each & every time I get blamed for something in that house when we are the only ones there, I’m always referred to as ‘someone’ (inherited from the father, of course 😉 for example: SOMEONE did this wrong – SOMEONE did that wrong – SOMEONE put something in the wrong spot – SOMEONE did not do it the same way you (or I) said it should be done. I’ve been made to feel so low by these people at times, just by the fact alone that they often don’t seem to remember that I even have a given name (such as the one I see on my birth certificate), or that I seem worthy of a title similar to that of an equal partner & be treated as such, & it’s crystal clear to me their negativity is directed to me & none other. Now, think to yourself a minute or two, with respect to ME BEING PUSHING-48, yes – in years of age (not bra-size), as well as completely in charge of my faculties with respect to having been there & done that, where it concerns being a full-time employee as well as a homemaker & owner of my own home including businesses, for well over 30 years of my life… can you imagine me having to be put in the position of having to deal with this lame-brained mentality coming from people who are obviously in a daze!? As most of my good friends & family already know about me & this often troublesome relationship I abruptly called to a halt some time ago & well before Christmas, this type of abuse that I’m speaking of has been going on for years now with respect to me being chastised &/or put down by this guy along with members of his immediate family. As for repercussions arising from them against me if they ever read this, I challenge them all to open up their big mouths about me 1 more friggin’ time! You can take that with a grain of salt, straight from the (work)horse’s mouth, from none other than moi, the Piece Of Furniture Who’s Been Cleaning Up After All Of Their Asses (Doing THEIR Dirty Work) For Almost A Decade. So, I ask all of you reading this, do you blame me for finally giving up on the relationship, after hoping it might finally get better all the way around & I would be respected?  By the way,

  • I AM… NEVER GOING BACK but who knows? I just might, as this is included in my forgiving nature & I also need another haircut from the girl I trusted to use me as her first CHOP-CHOP prototype (haha). Oh, yeah! I hear that wherever you lay your hat is your home & I inadvertently left mine behind there, so I guess it is after all.

  • Advertisements

    One Response to “Being A Perfect F*ck-Up”

    1. Elektra Magduhlana Marie December 29, 2010 at 5:26 am #

      I\’m following the advice in your self-coined quote & crossing a milestone by summing up a concise definition of your general flavour:I THINK THEREFORE I AM.(8) I see you\’re thinking of my fave song (X)

    Leave a Reply

