EL MUNDO

6 Oct
 

If this is true, that I might be one person to the world but to one person I might just be the world (and there’s some pretty deep heavy-duty sociology there for you, if you ask me), then that person who I mean the world to should display some honour by respecting my privacy and holding everything sacred about me, and that includes my history, my achievements, my successes & my failures, and accept me as-is. In my almost 48 years, I have gained much wisdom thru working full-time over 30 years, running my own businesses, & having read a lot of books about things that deal with philosophy, psychology & many different forms of abuse & mental illness. At this point in my life, I am not on any type of prescription drug or chemical substance. I have qualified for disability mainly because of permanent injuries that I have sustained during the past 10 years & the repercussions thereof, as well as needing surgery for one of them in the upcoming Spring. I can safely say that I am sound of mind, eating healthily & am fit in every sense of the word, other than being physically & emotionally impaired because of my injuries.

 

SOMETIMES I FEEL LIKE  

I’M CARRYING  THE WORLD ON MY SHOULDERS

 

Some people find it very easy to use me as a handy target to dump their problems on & involve me in their personal issues that I never had anything to do with in the first place. This can become a very heavy burden for me at times & being the caring person that I am, it’s very difficult for me to say no to someone who needs help. There is something very good about the saying, "You scratch my back & I’ll scratch yours", if only some people could see the good in this by appreciating it when someone helps them only out of the goodness of their own  without having any personal gain by it. And that’s why people should value when someone cares about them enough to acknowledge them & be there for them. We can’t force people to do this. They can only do it of their own volition. 

 

All in all, what I’m trying to tell everyone here is if I had not lost at times, there would have been no gain, but such is life! It is nothing but a challenge for anyone who dares to accept it & is willing to make the most of it, even at their own risk. The most important thing that I am proud of at this moment is that I have succeeded in what I have set out to do, despite the odds working against me. I am an easily approachable person, as well as forgiving to those who admit their mistakes, for I completely understand what it’s like for people who are ill & under a great deal of duress as well as the stress that we bring upon ourselves that causes us to act out in unpleasant ways against others & condemn them, when we ourselves are having a hard time taking care of our own issues that desperately need attending to. Sometimes we behave like children who feel hard done-by & are seeking attention. I already know all of this & what makes certain people tick, and that is why I’m asking you, if I mean the world to you, why are you sitting back hiding in the sidelines when you could be spending quality time with me as a true friend & companion? I willingly help others when I feel like it – that is my prerogative. The only thing I refuse to be is someone’s scapegoat or an adult’s babysitter in the sense that I find myself doing things for them that they are completely capable of doing themselves. I might give you a bit of pampering & praise, though. That’s about all she wrote for now, folks!

 

All of childhood’s unanswered questions must finally be passed back to the town and answered there. Heroes and bogey men, values and dislikes, are first encountered and labeled in that early environment. In later years they change faces, places and maybe races, tactics, intensities and goals, but beneath those penetrable masks they wear forever the stocking-capped faces of childhood ~ Maya Angelou (American Poet, b. 1928)

 

 

One Response to “EL MUNDO”

  1. Elektra Magduhlana Marie November 22, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    Your time\’s run out & so has my patience. It\’s not a joke or a laughing matter as to why I\’m permanently damaged.Having been deceived & humiliated has brought me this far today & now I\’m at the point of no return;I\’M NEVER GOING BACK to those who refuse to acknowledge their harmful actions, make right & stop them.

Leave a Reply

