My Most Fave Plant

21 Apr
 

I’m not sure if the proper term for this plant is tradescantia but after doing some research for several hours, I found out that this is 1 of the 2 existing varieties of spider wort (from what I read on the net) & the nicer one in my opinion. It took me a long time to find out what it’s called by looking at 100’s of photos. I sold its baby (about the size of my hand) I was raising on my sun porch for a year now to my next-door neighbour at the spur-of-the-moment yard sale I had last weekend for the same price as what the original plant cost. It grows very quickly into a globe shape, in full sun, requires little water & also blooms longer throughout the year than any plant I’ve come across (other than those boring geraniums), right from early Spring up until the end of Fall. Bees are ecstactic over this plant & it’s fun to watch them frequent it.
 
One Response to “My Most Fave Plant”

  1. monkeys April 21, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    yes , spiderwort is tradescantia but according to my old (1930/40s) gardening book , there are five species. i suspect this meens that there is only one sp. avaiable commercially. anyhooo it\’s a lovely plant

Leave a Reply

