Courage Facing The Super Unknown

19 Apr
 

I am most certainly no native to fear after having overcome many difficult obstacles in my life so far, and now that 3 better-than-good things happened to me already today, and bright & early this morning to boot (for I truly believe that God only helps those who help themselves WINK), I’ve decided to put my lunch break to good use by posting a slightly reformatted version of a Cherokee legend that lovely Donna sent me earlier this week. And for those of you network friends who have come to know me for most of the duration of eez werld (going on over 2 years now) I’m sure you will find this amusing & enlightening, since you’ve probably noticed that I have erased &/or hidden from view many of my writings regarding Natives. I have nothing bad to say about anyone here other than to remark upon how happy I am to see the immediate close ones in my life as having made remarkable progress on the road to becoming compassionate, kind & understanding REAL men – hunters, gatherers & providers (especially in charity toward others), for like I say, with age comes wisdom.

 

By the way, I landed a job today that pays well over ($2+) minimum wage, is full time & starts in exactly 3 wks, & at a place where I do not have to wear fancy schmancy office clothes but rather a company T-shirt & any choice of dress (by that I mean clothing, heh) below the midriff that isn’t smelly or dirty and doesn’t expose my pudendum (doancha love that word & did I spell that rite? Hee hee hee) and is also with a reknowned company that has been in existence for well over 30 years now & is flourishing and expanding, doing one of the things that I love to do best. Then a couple of minutes directly thereafter, a representative from the agency that was giving me a hard time regarding my current partner status (ie. Whether I’m living with a guy & receiving support) contacted me to smooth things over & put the dang audit on hold – and most likely permanently now that I’m working anyway – SHIT! I forgot to ask for sanitary products (just kidding)… and then when I arrived home for lunch I found a bottle of Budweiser laying on my front lawn – like someone threw it there for me to find, all frosty & cold, so I brought it in, put my stuff down, poured myself a wee bit, raised my glass to the bright sunny sky out there & thanked the Lord again today for protecting me & taking care of me, even though I prayed my 3 daily prayers (The Lord’s prayer, the serenity prayer & my own prayer of thanks including the asking for the forgiveness for my sins & help in giving me courage & strength) – just like I always do & many times sometimes throughout the day – when I awoke shortly after 6 am, when I was laying in the super hot tub soaking & even now that I’m writing this, believe it or not!

 

There’s another thing you probably can’t believe right now & that’s how could a potty-mouthed woman (who never seems to be able to shut her gate) be so sweet ‘n holy… way-elle, I’ll tell you why – have you ever eaten sour gummies before? There’s your answer!

 

Here’s the cool & courageous story that cool & courageous Donna sent to cool & courageous Li’l ë:

 
You may have read this story before,  however, I think it’s a blessing to read it many times again to remind us that our Father God is always watching over us….

 

(

 

Cherokee Legend

 

Do you know the legend of the Cherokee Indian youth’s rite of Passage?

 

His father takes him into the forest, blindfolds him and leaves him alone… He is required to sit on a stump the whole night and not remove the blindfold until the rays of the morning sun shine through it… He cannot cry out for help to anyone.

 

 

Once he survives the night, he is a MAN.

He cannot tell the other boys of this experience, because each lad must come into manhood on his own.

The boy is naturally terrified. He can hear all kinds of noises. Wild beasts must surely be all around him. Maybe even some human might do him harm. The wind blew the grass and earth, and shook his stump, but he sat stoically, never removing the blindfold. It would be the only way he could become a man!

Finally, after a horrific night the sun appeared and he removed his blindfold.

It was then that he discovered his father sitting on the stump next to him.

He had been at watch the entire night, protecting his son from harm.

We, too, are never alone.

Even when we don’t know it, God is watching over us, sitting on the stump beside us.

When trouble comes, all we have to do is reach out to Him.
 
If you liked this story, pass it on.
If not, you took off your blindfold before dawn.*
 

(

Moral of the story:

Just because you can’t see God, doesn’t mean He is not there.

“For we walk by faith, not by sight.”

 

*This should apply to women as well as men, I should hope!

 

Leave a Reply

