To Harm Or To Heal

23 Mar
 
Seeing as how there is controversy & censorship in the air as of late amongst my fellow network friends and in my own personal life, I’ve decided to post this blog from Barbara (of Barbara’s Tchatzkahs). As usual, enjoy!
 
Writing has always been a personal passion. For years I didn’t even dare really do it consistently in dread of bringing down the wrath of my ex who would pick apart and demean everything.

When I was younger it was my mother – and I wouldn’t write except when I had to because my diaries were opened and made fun of and journals became frustrating when I learned I had to edit myself to keep secrets. Teachers would read my words and evaluate them. But every day what we write & say is being evaluated by the hearts and minds of those who hear them, as well as the One who hears everything.

I believe words have energy. In my Torah classes we often discuss how something was written, why it was used once or twice, how the sentence was constructed and its deeper meaning. No matter how many times we read passages, I still find something new in them. And Gematria breaks down the numerical value of words and names to their cosmic elements and energy.

How we use language can inform, irreparably harm or heal.

"Abuse of truth ought to be as much punishment as the introduction of falsehood," – Pascal.

Words are used against us by media, politicians, other people, bullies and those who exploit the frailty of others. Words can be used for us in power documents like the U.S. Constitution or the Bill of Rights.

Always tell the truth and mind your words. Are you opening your mouth or using your keyboard to spread anger, hate & frustration? Or do you hope to inform, bring light and stir minds & hearts?

Words do have power – ask yourself how will you use the responsibility of that power. – Barbara

4 Responses to “To Harm Or To Heal”

  1. Elektra Magduhlana Marie March 23, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    I just have to be 1st here by saying that if neglected, what matters the most to us becomes what\’s the matter with us.C-ya!

  2. ♥ Bekkie March 24, 2010 at 3:35 am #

    Very good Lil e! You have grown this last year and I think it\’s awesome! Take care!

  3. Unknown April 5, 2010 at 2:31 am #

    I too like to write and do so daily in a journal. It\’s enlightening to see where my thoughts will take me and where they have been over the years … a good record of my thoughts at that particular moment in time. And yes, you are correct. Poorly chosen words can kill enthusiasm, impact self-esteem, lower expectations and hold people back. Well chosen ones can motivate, offer hope, create vision, impact thinking and alter results. Words do have enormous power, the most powerful weapon created by man.

Leave a Reply

