REST IN PEACE, SONNY

22 Nov
 
Last night I found out a friend of mine had a massive heart attack (the first one, I believe) & died 2 days ago… in his early 40’s, leaving behind his wife, their baby & toddler, his siblings, dad, mothers, all of his friends & his family.
 
 Not only was Sonny a very meek ‘n mild, kind & generous person, but he was also a hardworking family man who loved the outdoors & was an avid fisherman, along with being the best mechanic I’ve ever had who used to spend many an hour diligently working on my  at minimal cost to me (mainly my old Chevi’s & Buick) back in the 80’s up until the past decade, & was also employed for several years at the repair shop across the street from me. 
 
Sonny’s father, Fred Amalfi, who I also had the chance to befriend & found to be of the same type of kind-hearted temperant & calibre as that of his son’s, and his wife, Marilyn, were well known real estate brokers in Hamilton for many years. Fred Amalfi served on the Board of Directors for the Hamilton-Burlington & District Estate Board during the time that I was employed there.

 
May God continue to bless & protect you, Sonny,
along with your children, family & friends.
You’ll be sorely missed by us all. 

 
 
I took the above photo of Sonny last summer at his best friend’s son’s birthday party.
It can also be found in The Family I’ve Been Friends With For Over 30 Years photo album.
 

I’ve picked a special candle that I feel would most resemble you, Sonny, & your fondness for the outdoors & fishing. I will always hold fond memories of you in my . May God protect you & keep you resting peacefully, my friend. – Edith Carolyn Küchen 

 

Other than feeling the need to fill you in on these saddening & tragic details about my friend, I hope you are all having a good weekend & most importantly, that you are feeling blessed & grateful all the way around
 
     P E A C E    
 
4 Responses to “REST IN PEACE, SONNY”

  1. Bonnie November 22, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    I am so sorry for the loss of your dear friend. Please accept Randy and I\’s condolences, our thoughts and prayers are with you and Sonny\’s family,

  2. Xanthea November 23, 2009 at 2:56 pm #

    Hello my friend, I am sorry to hear of your loss 😦 Take care, best out 2U, today, X

  3. Elektra Magduhlana Marie November 24, 2009 at 6:40 pm #

    OBITUARY: AMALFI, Santo (Sonny) It is with most profound sadness that we announce the unexpected passing of Santo (Sonny) on November 20, 2009, at the age of 40. Beloved husband of Jennifer. Dear father of Domenic and Emma. Dear son of Fred (Marilyn) Amalfi and Lynda (John) Butler. Son-in-law of Brian and Helen Monighan. Loving brother of Lisette, Bernadette, Lynette (Ed), Rhonni, Rob and their families. Brother-in-law to Dave. Sonny will be sadly missed by his many aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, cousins and friends. Special thanks to the staff in the ER Department at St. Joseph\’s Hospital and the staff of the HIU at the Hamilton General Hospital. Visitation at BAY GARDENS FUNERAL HOME – "William J. Markey Chapel," 947 Rymal Road E. (between Upper Gage and Upper Ottawa), HAMILTON (905-574-0405) on Tuesday, November 24, 2009 from 2-4 p.m. and 6-9 p.m. A funeral service will be held in the chapel on Wednesday, November 25, 2009 at 11 a.m. Burial to follow at Mount Hamilton Cemetery. Donations may be made in Sonny\’s memory to the Heart and Stroke Foundation. Please sign the online Book of Condolences at http://www.baygardens.ca

  4. ♥ Bekkie January 11, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    I know it\’s late but sorry for your loss. My grandma was wise, loving and believed in God fully without ?. Before she passed she told me when she died don\’t be said for her. Remember all the wonderful memories and rejoice that she will be with her savior. She was like a mother to me and I miss her so much but when I think about her like that it makes me happy. No more pain, hassels from this life, etc. and I can still feel her love strongly even tho she is not with us now. It is the \’good ones\’ in our lives that we miss the most when they pass, so just feel the love cause it\’s still there!

Leave a Reply

