Tales From The ë-Crypt: SHEENA’S GOTTA SHINE

8 Oct

 

When I was nearing my eighth birthday, in grade 2 & ready to skip Grade 3, I made a friend named Sheena.

She was also in my class (at school, that is), and was lacking in both beauty & brawn, to put it mildly.

I used to have fun with her in the school yard & at recess time, up until she began to get pushy, nasty & bossy with me even after I was always kind in sharing my snacks with her. So, I shoved some snow in her face.

She ran hollering to the principal saying that I drove an icycle into her eye, of all things. 

 

Are we barbarian or wut?

 

After nothing much was done about it by either our parents or the school faculty (for what could they possibly do in this instance with one person’s word against the other?) and after some time had passed, perhaps about two or maybe three weeks at the most, I was sitting in my parents’ basement attending my first birthday party with school-friends & playmates – a party that my father had diligently created as a surprise for me by going all-out in buying party-favours and setting up the games & prizes for the guests. As the fun was about to begin, my mother called down & said that my friend was at the door. I asked her who it was & she said it was Sheena, and that Sheena had an invitation to my party in her hand. I was immediately shocked & hurt, thinking that my father had invited her out of the goodness of his  but my mother cut in & said that the handwriting on the invitation appeared to be that of a child’s & most likely written by Sheena herself. A few moments later, we allowed her to come into our home because my father encouraged me to let her join our festivities out of feeling sorry for the poor thing.

 

Anyway, after the last game finished, & Sheena won, my father didn’t have any prize to give her because he only purchased 12 of them for the 12 guests (so no one would feel like anyone was better than the other & that the children would all feel special). He then walked around to the back of the bar, fiddled around behind it for a bit & presented her the bauble I had won in a vending machine that contained one of my most fave possessions – mini scissors. I still remember them; quality construction with handles dipped in melon-green enamel. I felt like crying, believe me, & could not show my disappointment in front of my joyous fellow comrades. Needless to say, I took it out on my naive & unsuspecting father later on that evening after the party, when he may have forgotten why I did not want Sheena in our house.

 

 

Many more like her entered my life – the ones who vehemently acted out toward me from being motivated by their greed & envy (which are two of the 7 deadly sins, by the way). For instance, once upon a time in grade 4, after I came back from lunch carrying a bag of penny-candy & some other stuff from home, a schoolmate (who never had any treats of her own) snatched what she thought was a Sweetart from my hand, saying “give me some, give me some, give me some”, which was actually a checker-sized mint green sachet tablet that I had taken from my mother’s linen closet at noon as an added novelty for Show & Tell that afternoon. After she chowed down on it for a matter of a few seconds, she began to choke & spit and spew forth a bunch of lunacy about wanting to kill me, etc, etc, etc, & blah, blah blah. She went to the principal & tattled. Again, nothing was done about the problem other than having a good outside laugh about it at best. Hence the expression “gimme gimme never gets”. I suppose that kid’s parents never taught her that before,

 

In case you’re getting the wrong idea here, my parents were in no way close to being rich by any means, but rather just managing to get by on my father’s income, and because of that, they could never afford to buy me all the latest toys or clothes that were in, like Levi’s, Barbies, their doll houses & outfits. In order to make up for it, my father would actually endeavour in constructing toys for me, saying that his homemade ones would be a lot nicer than the store-bought ones. We always had a lot of food to eat though, and a very nice home in which to live & play in, and my grandmother would sew a lot of pretty outfits for me. What I did have a lot of in the way of toys, now that I’ve had a chance to recall (no puns against toys intended), was a microscope kit, a chemistry kit, a woodburning kit, a soldering gun, a glass-cutting kit & a rock tumbling kit, and many exercise books that involved puzzles, math problems & spelling joggers, oh, lest I forget – the piano & the old Remington typewriter, heh. So I guess you could say I was spoiled after all, even though the majority of my friends were not anarrested (eez lingo ) in that kinda stuff – and even when I was making crafts, doing beadwork, collecting music, making candles, embroidering, sewing, reading, sketching – whatever, they just did not have the interest or the drive to pursue these kinds of things. So I guess I can say that I have been blessed, along with being spoiled rotten after all – in a good way of course!

 

Now before the Mistress of Switch strays any further from the topic, during my teen years, a street-urchin I had the misfortune to meet thru a friend & who I became very generous with in giving her a lot of my personal belongings, betrayed herself one evening after she showed up at my doorstep wearing around her neck my enamelled gold ladybug charm from Germany that went missing the very last time she was over. My immediate open mouthed response was  "my charm… what’s it doing around your neck"? She told me that she had asked everyone she knew if it belonged to them after she had found it in her shoe. I asked her why she hadn’t asked me during that time. She looked at me, with a blank & dumbfounded face, then opened up the chain & handed it over to me, muttering something under her breath, then told me that it must have gotten stuck to her foot somehow. Way-elle, I did not want to cause a commotion even though I was seething with anger. To break the ice, my grandmother offered her a refreshment & after about 15 minutes, the girl finally realized that she was outstaying her welcome when I ignored her and went back to my schoolwork, she then said goodbye & left, after which I immediately tried my best to re-enact the scene she had created for an the explanation as to how the thing got stuck on her foot from the shelf it was sitting on in the bathroom, then down two flights of stairs & being popped into her shoe without it falling off… ooooohhhhhhh kay! After I refused to answer her phone calls or her knocks on my door for several weeks following the deliverance, she threatened to kill me & sent me angry & hateful messages via my grandmother for several more weeks to follow, until she finally gave up the nonsense.

 

The moral of today’s shining trilogy of ë-parables is when you catch envy & greed in the act &/or if you try to change or put an end to things, you will gain hate & enemies. That’s just the way it is & the way it always has been,

 

 

 My father encouraged me to fight back with my fists when I began to be bullied by two Italian brothers in my Kindergarten class. Nowadays, I choose to fight back with not only a smile but also with harsh & biting words. So if you can’t handle what I dish out to you after you fork me over, then you’d best leave the crud inside of your pot, or you’ll be out of luck (never mind pot luck) when your chances & blessings from me have finally run out.

 

Gee, do I ever feel like playing baseball or soccer right now……………

6 Responses to “Tales From The ë-Crypt: SHEENA’S GOTTA SHINE”

  1. Elektra Magduhlana Marie October 8, 2009 at 7:37 am #

    A shy friend emailed me earlier saying that she\’ll give me all her sweetarts. I told her as long as they\’re not filled with poison (hahaha). She also mentioned that she never envies me or is greedy, & wants to be my friend. Way-elle, I think she already knows sheez my friend, or we wouldn\’t be talking to each other, back & forth, every day, nor would we be able to sort out our differences and kiss & make up when the going gets tough. And for that, I love her!

  2. Elektra Magduhlana Marie October 8, 2009 at 6:14 pm #

    Thanx for learnin\’ me the correct spelling of Sweetarts, Deborah!

  3. Unknown October 10, 2009 at 8:32 am #

    I feel so neglected……………………………………… :o(

  4. Unknown October 10, 2009 at 8:46 am #

    People can be mean and cruel… at different levels. It does suck, but those are people that you don\’t need. It\’s hard to deal with, and really hurts your feelings, but you are better off without them. True friends always stick by you. I suppose its the cycle of life. People always come and go, each for different reasons. Some bad, some good. It hurts when it happens for any reason, but all the more motivation to enjoy the company of those still around you. Personally I appreciate, welcome, and accept anyone who comes to me, but I let the people who try to leave me go. This is the way I have learned from my life.With that said…….. It takes a strong person to say sorry, and an ever stronger person to forgive. Forgiveness is a sign that the person who has wronged you means more to you than the wrong they have delt. Cheers to you!

  5. Elektra Magduhlana Marie November 6, 2009 at 2:36 am #

    Less than 3 weeks have elapsed since I wrote this blog, and as one must often do with young kids when they get out of line, I am taking the adult children aside & asking them to pay close attention to the lavender & sage highlighted areas in particular here (after I have already tried to talk sensibly to them & set a good example for them by openly & honestly admitting my own faults & mistakes and have even posted Bible excerpts in eez werld with hopes that this might set them straight). What I\’m trying to say here & what I\’m getting at is that I have more than what I could ever need or want & am also a very kind-hearted & generous person who is willing to give you my precious time and even the shirt off my back if you need it, but if you\’re going to start wiping your feet on me, then I have no alternative but to give you the heave-ho. If I have committed a wrong, I will always attempt to make it right again, by apologizing for what I\’ve done, learning from my mistakes & trying my very best never to repeat them again. And when it comes to forgiveness, how many times can you forgive a person if they continue to hurt you & never admit where they\’ve gone wrong? Seriously now, would you really set yourself up to be harmed by them again? I didn\’t think so. As Madonna put it bluntly in her song Human Nature,"I\’m not your bitch so don\’t lay your shit on me".On a lighter note, in case any of you are interested (and that includes the naysayers), I have been approached by a family member who asked me to visit our church to inquire about taking a short course for Sunday School teachers, as they are desperately in need of them. I was also told that my youngest cousin will be attending my class once I complete the course. If anyone has anything negative to say about this, you can keep it to yourselves. The only other thing I need to say is that there is a time & a place for everything, and that includes being serious about the things that really matter in your life. So you can take that with a grain of salt if you\’ve been wondering how such an apparently eccentric, outrageous, outspoken & potty-mouthed individual could ever be of any value to anyone else.

  6. Cinderella Story September 7, 2010 at 2:23 am #

    I couldn\’t help but giggle when I thought about Ginny Mushie & I\’m patiently waiting for you to write about her next.

Leave a Reply

