PENNIES FROM HEAVEN

15 Jul
I never published this story yet nor had I written it out until a few minutes ago, but several months ago, when I was down & out, with maybe just enough money left for a coffee, I could not sleep & decided to go up to the 7-11 convenience store at 4 am (on a whim – a spur-of-the-moment, spontaneous kind of thing, which I normally would not do or ever did do, if I remember correctly) to grab a specialty coffee (as they have a bar there with all kinds of flavoured creams, sugars, syrops, powders & marshmallows). At the precise point where I decided to cross the street just about a block up from me (on the way to the store), I came across a mound of change consisting mainly of pennies. There was a light dusting of snow still on the ground & I had a parka on with deep pockets. Before I started to take the pennies, I quickly glanced around to see if anyone was about & tried to figure out how they got there by looking at the ground & the cars around, but for the life of me I couldn’t see the purpose of them being there & it was deathly still outside. I figured that they could not have been there for long, because in my shitty neighbourhood, someone would have snatched them up immediately (haha). Anyway, I started scooping them up by the handful and my pockets were nearly overflowing with pennies. I had to leave some behind because there wasn’t any more room left on my person to stash them all. When I came back (from the store that I still went to as planned from purchasing my coffee with the money that I originally brought with me, trying very hard to hide my bursting pockets), I counted the pennies & they totalled approx $15. This fifteen dollars purchased my food to sustain myself for the week. THESE PENNIES WERE DEFINITELY PENNIES FROM HEAVEN!

 

3 Responses to “PENNIES FROM HEAVEN”

  1. the July 16, 2009 at 4:44 am #

    the dimeman cashed them tell the whole story EDITH DULD

  2. ♥ Bekkie July 17, 2009 at 9:53 pm #

    Yeah, let\’s hear the whole story? ♥

  3. Elektra Magduhlana Marie March 2, 2010 at 5:46 am #

    I guess it\’s high time for the rest of the story; the DIMEMAN cashed \’em in for me at 1 of those machines that exchanges your change for bills but unfortunately he was referring to the wrong Edith (old Mother-Hubbard Duld), for she would never ever admit that to anyone, hahaha! As far as my eye can see, I\’m the right Edith here (when I set things right, that is). A WINK & A BOW to you both!!!

Leave a Reply

