She Who Claims Her Spirit Power

13 Jul

Be not afraid
Be not forlorn
The Beloved stands beside you
The skin you shed is all but dead
A shadow of what tried to bind you

Is now arrayed as star burst for your wedding bower
To shower grace upon the face of
She Who Claims Her Spirit Power.

The wood is deep
The night is dark
I feel you all around me
In the blood-beat of my heart
I know that you have found me
I lay me down
A fallen leaf of broken splendor at your feet
And in your eye
I am undone
I am made One
I am released

Between the crack
Beyond the veil
I am sailing close beside you
My faith, a flock of beating wings, cries out
"I knew that I would find you!"
All the sorrow, all the glory of the past
At last are embers in your fire
And my desire–that flaming serpent
Burns to ashes
On love’s funeral pyre.

(copyright Ann Mortifee 1999)

Leave a Reply

