A SUNNY DESIRE & DISPOSITION

12 Jun

I awoke this morning with a firm conviction of my being & essence, knowing where I stand with everything around me, more or less in tune with the beauty of reality. I’ve been thinking about the sunflower today, and what it means to me. I remember buying 5-cent bags of sunflower seeds when I was a kid, cuz that’s just about all I could afford to buy, along with a few Mojo’s here & there from the penny candy section (gee – now you must know how awfully old I am, heh). But getting back to the topic of sunflowers & my better-than-good feelings today, I recall my grandmother having a sunflower in our backyard when I was a little kid & also back in the 80’s when I went to Baden (which is located at the bottom of Germany close to the border of France & Switzerland) & was enthralled by their vast fields of sunflowers (& decadent spas). Some time back at the beginning of December 2008, I was heading home from a friend’s place at the crack of dawn, on a crisp & snow-dusted morning. I had only walked about a block & a half, when I met this flower laying on the sidewalk, at the precise point of where I decided to cross the street to! Now is this a part of my destiny or what? I bent over to examine the flower, which stood right out from its backdrop of snowdust, & I happened to notice that it was the flower part of a sunflower plant. I picked it up & admired it’s beauty, even though it was made out of synthetic material & plastic. I then began to pet the flower’s velvet-soft button-shaped eye (in one of my fave hues of chocolate), when a song suddenly began to play in my mind, the song by the Black Crowes – She Gave Good Sunflower. Then it finally dawned on me (no pun intended, haha)  that I am the girl that Robinson’s been singing about! I pondered how I could be so very good at certain things with some people, but get criticized by others for supposedly failing at these very same things. Go figure! That just goes to show you that there is a perfect match in the book of matches after all. So what I’m trying to say here by telling you all of this mumbo-jumbo, is never ever give up on climbing ‘til you reach the sun… there is someone who either desires you or they still desire you. To have this in your life is a great gift. Enjoy it while you can! There’s this song that I’ve been listening to a lot lately. Here is a video & the lyrics to it, along with a blurb about it’s origin & composer. I hope your day is bright & all of your desires are fulfilled! C-ya for now; I gotta fly & I’m catching some

          

You, you leave me wanting more

Leave me waiting at the door

You leave a lot to be desired

You, leave a lot of things unsaid

Sometimes I say them in my head

You leave a lot to be desired

You never make me eggs in the morning

We never do it on the floor

You never tell me how good I’m lookin’

You don’t bring me flowers anymore

You leave a lot to be desired

But I still desire you

And no matter what you do

I will still desire you

You, like to fight about stupid stuff

Leave the seat up if you must

You leave a lot to be desired

You don’t know lingerie from laundry

You don’t know things that turn me on

You don’t know Pepsi as from poetry

You don’t sing me any love songs

You leave a lot to be desired

But I still desire you

And no matter what you do

I will still desire you

So you will never be a star

So you don’t drive a real cool car

Sometimes it seems like we’re at war

Then I want you even more

You leave a lot to be desired

But I still desire you

And no matter what you do

I will still desire

You leave a lot to be desired

But I still desire you

And no matter what you do

I will still desire you

STILL DESIRE YOU by Paul Ledoux  & David Young with the music of Melanie Doane

 

Love goes on trial in Still Desire You, a fresh, new adaptation of the classic Canadian musical Love Is Strange, featuring the music of Juno Award winning Melanie Doane.

David Stuart, a starstruck fan obsessed by singing star Rose McKay, is on trial – and for “the crime of loving a girl.”  Facing commitment in a prison for the criminally insane, David defends himself in court, and in the process challenges both the nature of media stardom and the ability of the legal system to deal with the mentally ill.

 

"A fresh take on celebrity obsession" – The Globe and Mail          

Leave a Reply

